Friday, 28 August 2015

TV Review: WWE Summerslam

It's billed as the hottest event of the summer, but did it live up to expectations? That was what I was hoping to find out by watching WWE's Summerslam, shown live in the early hours of this past Monday morning on Sky Box Office here in Britain.

Monday, 17 August 2015

Say Hello to Monty!

Say hello to eight week old Monty, the newest member of our family. Monty is a Jack Russell, and named after Cromer's most famous dog Monte, who was resuced from an Italian cargo ship by Cromer Lifeboat and adopted by Coxswain Henry Blogg. Cute little bugger, isn't he!

Wednesday, 12 August 2015

DVD Review: Triple H: Thy Kingdom Come

So how do you start a DVD review about one of the most powerful men in the world of wrestling today? You could go on about how he's been a polarizing figure during his career, or how he went from a blue blood to a degenerate and all that. But I think the best way to start this thing is to just say that we're going to take a look at WWE's most recent DVD tribute to their Chief Operating Officer with Triple H: Thy Kingdom Come.

Friday, 7 August 2015

Rest in peace Dexter

I'm feeling very sad at the moment. My dearest companion Dexter suffered a stroke last night and two further strokes today. After the third one he'd lost the use of his back legs completely, his head was titlted to the left and the left side of his face was drooping.

Even before I called the vet it was more than obvious that I was losing him. He was still quite attentive, but the sparkle in his eyes had gone. Shortly after 6.30 this evening the vets eased his pain and sent him on his way just a couple of weeks before his 14th birthday.

Monday, 3 August 2015

My Roddy Piper Story

When I heard about the sad death of “Rowdy” Roddy Piper late last Friday night I immediately began to think about the great man’s legendary career, not just as one of the most iconic stars of the wrestling business but of his acting career as well.

I then began to think about my own Roddy Piper story. Sadly I never met the man, and as with many things related to my somewhat brief time in the British professional wrestling business it was a case of “what if” and “almost”.

Monday, 27 July 2015

When the man from the Beeb came to Cromer

Post-show group photo!
Picture the scene. It's around 11am in the morning, I'm sitting in my bedroom, listening to BBC Radio Norfolk. Nick Conrad, the station's morning show presenter, has left the studio for what he's termed a "Pop-Up Conrad" show, the idea being that he travels to various parts of the county and finds new places to present his show.

This particular morning saw him presenting his show from Aylsham Market Place. During one particular segment he's talking to various people who happen to be passing by the spot where his radio car is parked, and there's one memorable moment where he talks to an old boy who thought he'd been banned because he was taken off air for saying the word "bitch" during a phone-in. Nick and Edd (the show's aptly-named editor) then tell their audience that they're looking to do more Pop-Up Conrad shows in the future, and they want their listeners to send in their ideas.

Wednesday, 22 July 2015

TV Review: WWE Battleground

It's time to take a trip to Suplex City as we take a look at WWE's latest pay-per-view offering, Battleground, shown live in the early hours of this past Monday morning on Sky Box Office here in Britain.

Thursday, 16 July 2015

Listen to me on the radio!

Earlier today I had the pleasure of meeting Nick Conrad​ and his team as they brought their Radio Norfolk show to the Henry Blogg Museum here in Cromer.

We had a great time showing Nick and his crew around the museum talking about the great man himself among other things. Richard Leeds​ from the Lifeboat Station also popped by for a chat, and as the old saying goes a good time was had by all.

Monday, 13 July 2015

TV Review: UFC 189 Mendes vs McGregor

It was the night of the two title fights, but who would emerge as the kings of their divisions? That was what I was hoping to find out by watching UFC 189, shown live in the early hours of this past Sunday morning on BT Sport here in Britain.

Tuesday, 7 July 2015

DVD Review: ROH Relentless

We're heading into Ring of Honor territory for our next review, and this time around we're taking a look at one of their event DVDs, heading back to Richmond, Virginia on May 18th, 2013. Kevin "Owens" Steen was there, as were Eddie Edwards and Davey Richards before they dropped the American and became ordinary Wolves, and B.J. Whitmer challenged World Champion Jay Briscoe  in the main event of Relentless.