Monday, 2 March 2015

TV Review: UFC 184 Rousey vs Zingano

It's time to step into the Octagon for our latest review as we look back at Cat Zingano challenging Ronda Rousey for the Women's Bantamweight title in the main event of UFC 184, shown live in the early hours of this past Sunday morning on BT Sport here in Britain.

Sunday, 1 March 2015

Film Review: Tapped Out

Over the past few decades there have been countless films telling the stories of sporting underdogs triumphing against all the odds, whether they be about football, baseball, or more notably boxing, and because of it's ever-increasing popularity there have been quite a few films focusing on mixed martial arts.

Wednesday, 25 February 2015

TV Review: WWE Fastlane

It was an event that met with a great deal of apathy in it's run-up, but did it fulfil the somewhat low expectations that had been placed on it? That was what I was hoping to find out by watching WWE's latest pay per view offering, Fastlane, shown in the early hours of this past Monday morning on Sky One and Sky Sports here in Britain.

Friday, 13 February 2015

It was twenty years ago today.....

I'd like to take you back to the late 1994. Back then I was a different kind of person. I'd just turned 23, but I didn't really know what I wanted to do with my life. I'd worked in local hotels and factories, but if truth be known I never really enjoyed those jobs, and I'd been laid off from my most recent one because I was suffering from a long-term Achilles tendon injury, and even though I'd applied for dozens and dozens of jobs when I was given the all clear it seemed as if nobody wanted to take me on. In fact it even got to the point where I considered joining the army, just so I could earn a living and say that I had a job.

Wednesday, 11 February 2015

DVD Review: True Giants

They are the men who were not only metaphorically larger than life but physically larger than many of their opponents, the big men who became legends in the world of professional wrestling. Now WWE have dipped into their vast video archive to pay tribute to these men, from Gorilla Monsoon and Andre the Giant right up to their modern counterparts Mark Henry and the Big Show, they're all here in the three DVD set True Giants.

Tuesday, 10 February 2015

Remembering Drew McDonald

It was with a great deal of sadness that I learned of the death last night of British wrestling legend Drew McDonald.

Tuesday, 3 February 2015

TV Review: UFC 183 Silva vs Diaz

It's time to step into the Octagon for our latest review to see how Anderson Silva fared in his comeback fight against Nick Diaz at UFC 183, shown in the early hours of this past Sunday morning on BT Sport here in Britain.

Friday, 30 January 2015

DVD Review: WWE Superstar Collection: Randy Orton

We're stepping into the cheap and cheerful world of the WWE Superstar Collection for our next review, and this time our subject is a third generation star who has been known by many names, Legend Killer, Viper, the Apex Predator. The man in question is Randy Orton.

Wednesday, 28 January 2015

TV Review: WWE Royal Rumble

It was the first stop on the road to Wrestlemania, but did it fulfil it's expectations? That was what I was hoping to find out by watching WWE's Royal Rumble, shown live in the early hours of this past Monday morning on Sky Box Office here in Britain.

Sunday, 25 January 2015

DVD Review: Bryan Danielson: World Champion

He's regarded as one of the best in the world, but he's been missing from our screens because of long-term injury problems. Now he's back, so what better time is there to look at Ring of Honor's tribute to Bryan Danielson: World Champion.